We use cookies to imporve your experience. By using our site, you consent to our cookie policy Learn more
arrow arrow_up breadcrumb-chevron-right breadcrumb-home dropdown-arrow-down loader GALogoWUNEP GALogo2018 GALogo2019 menu read-more-plus rrss-email rrss-facebook rrss-flickr rrss-instagram rrss-linkedin rrss-twitter rrss-vimeo rrss-youtube rrss_google_plus rrss_skype rrss_web pdf search share Completed In Process Ideas In Develpment Toogle Toogle Thumbnail View List View play close filter-collapse filter edit media_photo_library media_video_library graphics pictures videos collections next

Barents Region and the surrounding seas

The Barent's Euro-Arctic Council was established in 1993 to promote inter-governmental cooperation in the northern most parts of Sweden, Norway, Finland and north-west Russia. The cooperating region includes, in the Scandinavian countries, the counties of Nordland, Tromso and Finnmark in Norway, Norrbotten and Västerbotten in Sweden, and Lapland and the province of Oulu in Finland. In Russia, it includes the Arkhangelsk and Murmansk Oblasts, the Republic of Karelia, the Nenets Autonomous Okrug, and the Republic of Komi. Historically in the Soviet era, contacts between the Western European and Russian parts of the region were restricted. Cooperation since the beginning of the 1990's has increased rapidly. (Please note that the The Barents Euro-Arctic Council has expanded the membership since 1998)

Year: 2005

From collection: Barentswatch Atlas

Cartographer: Philippe Rekacewicz

Tags: Barents Maps Northern Scandinavia sea

Graphics included in same album

View all media