We use cookies to imporve your experience. By using our site, you consent to our cookie policy Learn more
arrow arrow_up breadcrumb-chevron-right breadcrumb-home dropdown-arrow-down loader GALogoWUNEP GALogo2018 GALogo2019 menu read-more-plus rrss-email rrss-facebook rrss-flickr rrss-instagram rrss-linkedin rrss-twitter rrss-vimeo rrss-youtube rrss_google_plus rrss_skype rrss_web pdf search share Completed In Process Ideas In Develpment Toogle Toogle Thumbnail View List View play close filter-collapse filter edit media_photo_library media_video_library graphics pictures videos collections next

Indonesian provinces targeted for peatland restoration

The new Indonesian policy focuses on restoring degraded peatlands and prohibits new activities that damage the hydrological functions of peatlands, including drainage and conversion to plantations. The Peatland Restoration Agency’s restoration efforts focus on seven provinces: Riau, Jambi, South Sumatra, Papua, and West, East, and Central Kalimantan. It classifies Indonesia’s peatlands into four categories based on the topography, presence of drainage canals and recent fires.

Year: 2017

From collection: Smoke on Water (Revised)

Cartographer: Nieves Lopez Izquierdo

Tags: Assessment Peatlands Rapid Response RRA

Graphics included in same album

View all media

Publications it appears in

View all publications

Related activities

View all activities

Related news

View all news