Home >> Antarctica Tourism >> Antarctic Research Station of Argentina, Antarctic Peninsular
Size Pixels Download  
small 800 x 496 Download  
medium 2200 x 1364 Download  
original 2916 x 1808 Download  
Uploaded on Monday 05 Dec 2011 by Peter Prokosch

Antarctic Research Station of Argentina, Antarctic Peninsular

Year: 2011
From collection: Antarctica Tourism
Taken by: Peter Prokosch
The Antarctic Treaty was signed in Washington on 1 December 1959 by the twelve countries whose scientists had been active in and around Antarctica during the International Geophysical Year (IGY) of 1957-58. It entered into force in 1961 and has since been acceded to by many other nations. The total number of parties to the Treaty is now 49. Antarctica shall be used for peaceful purposes only (Art. I) Freedom of scientific investigation in Antarctica and cooperation toward that end … shall continue (Art. II). To promote the objectives and ensure the observance of the provisions of the Treaty, "All areas of Antarctica, including all stations, installations and equipment within those areas … shall be open at all times to inspection " (Art. VII).
Views: 300     Downloads: 256     Rating: 3
Relevant links:
Cape Horn, Chile
Cape Horn, Chile
Mountains and glaciers at Arctowski Peninsular, Orne Habor, Gerlache Strait, Antarctic peninsular
Drake Passage
Tourist/photograther with Imperial Shags (Phalaracrocorax atriceps), Antarctic Peninsular
Tourism in Antarctica
Private Yacht at UK station Port Lockroy, Antarctic Peninsular
Cruiseship "Marco Polo", Antarctic Peninsular