Home >> Barentswatch Atlas >> Barents Region and the surrounding seas
File type Download Size Language
.jpg .jpg Download 37 kb -
Uploaded on Tuesday 21 Feb 2012 by GRID-Arendal

Barents Region and the surrounding seas

Year: 2005
From collection: Barentswatch Atlas
Author: Philippe Rekacewicz, UNEP/GRID-Arendal
The Barent's Euro-Arctic Council was established in 1993 to promote inter-governmental cooperation in the northenmost parts of Sweden, Norway, Finland and north-west Russia. The cooperating region includes, in the Scandinavian countries, the counties of Nordland, Troms and Finnmark in Norway, Norrbotten and Västerbotten in Sweden, and Lapland and the province of Oulu in Finland. In Russia, it includes the Arkhangelsk and Murmansk Oblasts, the Republic of Karelia, the Nenets Autonomous Okrug, and the Republic of Komi. Historically in the Soviet era, contacts between the Western European and Russian parts of the region were restricted. Cooperation since the beginning of the 1990's has increased rapidly. (Please note that the The Barents Euro-Arctic Council has expanded the membership since 1998)
Views: 394     Downloads: 134     Rating: 4
Tags: Region (352)
Ecosystems in Northwest Russia
Transport routes of POP and concerned areas
Forest boundaries in Northern Scandinavia
Environmental threats in the Barents Region
Air temperature in the Barents Region in winter
Distribution of polar bear populations in the Arctic
Rural and urban population in the Barents region
Forest damage due to air pollution